Holy Pascha (Geronda Ephraim of Arizona, 1980)

NOTE: The following is taken from Fire from the Holy Mountain: The Prayer Diary of Elder Epraim, entry for March 24, 1980, Sunday of Pascha, p. 86:

PASCHA2

Today is the Resurrection of Christ.

“Come receive light from the unwaning Light…”

PASCHA

O unwaning, unsetting, unending light, supremely radiant and extremely white, how You magnetize my nous, my soul, my heart! I long for You unwaningly, with endless love and eros. When shall I be counted worthy by the gift of mercy of my most holy God and Father to enjoy You eternally, eternally!

PASCHA3

My unworthiness worries me, for I am not worthy of this lot of the saved—rather, I deserve to go to hell and be punished forever.

PASCHA4

The Resurrection, the eternal Pascha, attracts me tremendously. The state of things above draws me. I long and yearn to be up in heaven, up in security. But when will this happen?

PASCHA5

O Pascha with the angels, with the saints, with everyone dressed in white, how much you please and attract me! There they chant new and ineffable songs and sing to God with fantastic but also inexpressible peace and tranquility.

PASCHA6

O Pascha with no end or change of its indescribable joy and celebration! My Father and my God, protect me from every evil so that I, too, the monstrosity, may be counted worthy one day of being in this Pascha that human words cannot describe or express.

PASCHA9

“Likewise, do thou exalt and be glad, O my lady Theotokos, in the arising of Him Whom thou didst bear” (cf. Heirmos, 9th Ode of Paschal Canon). In the loveliness of the divine beauty of Your Son and God, remember even me, the filthy one, so that I may be together with you in the eternal Pascha!

PASCHA0

“It is the day of Resurrection, let us be radiant, O ye peoples; Pascha, the Lord’s Pascha” (Heirmos, 1st Ode of Paschal Canon).

PASCHA10

I bid You farewell, my Father, until next year.

PASCH

Leave a Reply

